WFLP 2019

The international Workshop on Functional and (constraint) Logic Programming (WFLP) aims at bringing together researchers, students, and practitioners interested in functional programming, logic programming, and their integration. WFLP has a reputation for being a lively and friendly forum, and it is open for presenting and discussing work in progress, technical contributions, experience reports, experiments, reviews, and system descriptions.

The 27th International Workshop on Functional and (Constraint) Logic Programming (WFLP 2019) will be held at the Brandenburgische Technische Universität Cottbus, Germany. Previous WFLP editions were WFLP 2018 (Frankfurt am Main, Germany), WFLP 2017 (Würzburg, Germany), WFLP 2016 (Leipzig, Germany), WFLP 2014 (Wittenberg, Germany), WFLP 2013 (Kiel, Germany), WFLP 2012 (Nagoya, Japan), WFLP 2011 (Odense, Denmark), WFLP 2010 (Madrid, Spain), WFLP 2009 (Brasilia, Brazil), WFLP 2008 (Siena, Italy), WFLP 2007 (Paris, France), WFLP 2006 (Madrid, Spain), WCFLP 2005 (Tallinn, Estonia), WFLP 2004 (Aachen, Germany), WFLP 2003 (Valencia, Spain), WFLP 2002 (Grado, Italy), WFLP 2001 (Kiel, Germany), WFLP 2000 (Benicassim, Spain), WFLP’99 (Grenoble, France), WFLP’98 (Bad Honnef, Germany), WFLP’97 (Schwarzenberg, Germany), WFLP’96 (Marburg, Germany), WFLP’95 (Schwarzenberg, Germany), WFLP’94 (Schwarzenberg, Germany), WFLP’93 (Rattenberg, Germany), and WFLP’92 (Karlsruhe, Germany).


The topics of interest cover all aspects of functional and logic programming. They include (but are not limited to):

  • Functional programming
  • Logic programming
  • Constraint programming
  • Deductive databases, data mining
  • Extensions of declarative languages, objects
  • Multi-paradigm declarative programming
  • Foundations, semantics, non-monotonic reasoning, dynamics
  • Parallelism, concurrency
  • Program analysis, abstract interpretation
  • Program and model manipulation
  • Program transformation, partial evaluation, meta-programming
  • Specification
  • Verification
  • Debugging
  • Testing
  • Knowledge representation, machine learning
  • Interaction of declarative programming with other formalisms
  • Implementation of declarative languages
  • Advanced programming environments and tools
  • Software techniques for declarative programming
  • Applications


All papers accepted for presentation at the conference will be published in informal proceedings publicly available at the Computing Research Repository.
According to the program committee reviews, submissions can be directly accepted for publication in the formal post-conference proceedings. The formal post-conference proceedings will be published in both electronic and paper formats by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence LNCS/LNAI series. After the conference, all authors accepted only for presentation will be invited to revise and/or extend their submissions in the light of the feedback solicited at the conference. Then, after another round of reviewing, these revised papers may also be published in the formal proceedings.
Therefore, all accepted papers will be published in open-access, and the authors can also decide to publish their work in the Springer LNCS/LNAI formal proceedings.


Dates (tentative schedule)

  • Paper Registration: May 27, 2019
  • Deadline for Submissions: June 3, 2019
  • Notification of Authors: July 1, 2019
  • Camera-ready Papers: July 29, 2019
  • Early Registration: August 12, 2019
  • Online Registration: September 2, 2019
  • Conference & Workshops: September 9-13, 2019

Program Committee

Herbert Kuchen (University of Münster, Germany) (Chair)

Maria Alpuente Frasnedo (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
Sergio Antoy (Portland State University, USA)
Olaf Chitil (University of Kent, UK)
Sandra Dylus (University of Kiel, Germany)
Moreno Falaschi (Università di Siena, Italy)
Michael Hanus (University of Kiel, Germany)
Julio Mariño Carballo (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
Manuel Montenegro Montes (Universidad Complutense Madrid, Spain)
Konstantinos Sagonas (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Sibylle Schwarz (HTWK Leipzig, Germany)
Dietmar Seipel (University of Würzburg, Germany)
Josep Silva Galiana (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)
Johannes Waldmann (HTWK Leipzig, Germany)